Matt Squirrell

The personal bit

Otherwise known as the bit all about me! I’m Matt Squirrell and I currently live in Norwich, England.

Work and academic stuff

I have worked for the insurance company Aviva in Norwich since 2008 developing their websites, currently as Front End Architect. Previously I worked as a freelance web developer.

In 2004 I completed a Masters degree in Engineering (MEng) at the University of Durham. My degree covered General Engineering for the first two years and then specialised in Electronic Engineering for the final two. My final year project was on the Smart Dust concept, which involved forming ad hoc networks between small computers formed of a micro controller and transceiver. I went to school in Norwich at the originally named Norwich School, where I took A levels in Maths, Physics and Chemistry.

Walking

As you can probably tell from the rest of the website my main interest is walking (especially where hills and mountains are involved). Whilst I’ve always enjoyed walking it was only at the end of 2000 when I started at Durham University and joined the Hill Walking Society (DUHWS) that I really got into it. Since then I’ve moved on to scrambling, winter walking and climbing as well. I have also been a member of Dundee University Rucksack Club (DURC). I qualified as a walk leader for DUHWS in February 2002 and then led walks regularly until I left in June 2004. I was on the exec. for 2 years as Treasurer from 2002–2003 and as Vice-President from 2003–2004.

On this website I have attempted to gather together everything I’ve learnt over the last few years. Hopefully you will find it useful!

Other bits

Un-DUHWS Address Book (password protected), if you don’t know what this is, you don’t need to!